The art of salad

Luc insists that I make the best salads. I tease him that he only says that to get out of making them for me, and I sometimes believe that’s true. I didn’t grow up eating too many salads that I can remember. Occasionally we’d have a lettuce salad, but those iceberg creations didn’t inspire me much. But over the years, I’ve made some pretty good ones. There’s no special trick, except maybe to add lots of variety: all sorts of colors, textures, ingredients can come together to make a great salad. I usually include nuts, but since I’ve been snacking on them far too much lately, I skipped them last night. Here’s what we ate on the side of our pork tenderloin with prociutto, fig, and onion jam. This salad made 3 large side-salad servings.

  • 5-6 loose cups mixed baby greens
  • handful micro greens
  • 3 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 2 small carrots
  • 1/3 medium cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • scant 1/4 cup marinated artichoke hearts, sliced
  • 1/4 cup black olives, sliced
  • dressed with roasted red pepper vinaigrette (from Health Bent’s cobb salad recipe, also amazing!)
Leave a Reply

