February 15 – day one

It’s my first day of my Whole32. Here’s a look at what I had to eat today.

Breakfast: leftover Vitamin A Bisque, coffee. I’m drinking decaf right now to minimize the effects of caffeine on my nursing baby. I’ve also noticed my sleep quality decline when I do drink some caffeine. With as much sleep interruption as I get, I don’t need anything else impeding my rest!

Lunch: leftover Beef Stew and then a little leftover chicken curry, topped off with a few bites of Liam’s sardines.

Dinner: NY Strip steaks topped with carmelized onions and a dash of balsamic vinegar, roasted broccoli, and pineapple.

To make: trim broccoli into small florets; peel and dice stems. Lay out on a baking sheet, drizzle with oil (I used olive oil), salt and pepper. Toss around on the sheet with a spatula then bake in the oven at 375 for 15-20 minutes. I usually just check to see the edges of the pieces and florets getting a little brown.

While the broccoli is in the oven, slice an onion and saute in coconut oil or ghee over medium to medium-high heat until the onion becomes very soft and browned. It should taste sweet. Prepare your steaks while the onions are cooking: salt and pepper on each side. This is also when I cut my fresh pineapple. Once the onions are out of the pan, turn the heat up to medium-high/high and place steaks in pan. I cook them for about 2-3 minutes on a side, then finish them off in a hot oven for a few minutes. Let them rest for about 5-10 minutes while you’re setting the table, then serve.

Leave a Reply

